Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomeBusinessWTIP Wins Six, First-Place Midwest Broadcast Journalist Association Awards

WTIP Wins Six, First-Place Midwest Broadcast Journalist Association Awards

Grand Marais, Minn., April 8, 2024 — WTIP North Shore Community Radio has received six, first-place awards in the small-market me­dia category at the 2024 Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association Awards.

All six features submitted received first-place recognition at the MBJA ceremony in Minne­apolis on April 6.

  • First Place Writing for Broadcast: Trail Time, “Getting Prepared” written by Mar­cia Roepke
  • First Place Social Media: WTIP Social Media Videos produced by Chuck Olsen & M Baxley
  • First Place General Reporting: Grand Portage Marina Update produced by Kalli Hawkins with video by M Baxley
  • First Place Soft Feature: Traveling the Old North Shore, “Toimi Children’s Cem­etery” produced by Martha Marnocha
  • First Place Specialty Programming: An­ishinaabe Bizindamoo Makak, interview with Obizaan and Chato Gonzales, host­ed by Erik Redix and produced by Staci Drouillard
  • First Place Podcast Episode: Boundary Waters Podcast, Episode 90, produced by Joe Friedrichs and M Baxley

The MBJA Eric Sevareid Awards are named for the North Dakota-born and University of Minnesota-educated journalist best known for his work as a correspondent for CBS Radio and Television. Each year, the MBJA presents awards for the best work done by broadcast news operations and journalists working in small, medium and large markets in our six-state region on radio, television and online. The distinguished panel of judges is made up of journalists and educators who live outside of Minnesota, Wisconsin, the Dakotas, Iowa and Nebraska to help ensure impartiality.

WTIP is an independent, community station that serves the North Shore of Lake Superior. To listen to the award-winning features and learn more about WTIP’s efforts, visit wtip.org.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular